Weather Forecast


March Mania

Mets' deGrom, Astros' Verlander win second Cy Young Awards

New York Mets starting pitcher Jacob deGrom pitches against the Washington Nationals May 22 at Citi Field. Brad Penner / USA TODAY Sports1 / 2
Houston Astros starting pitcher Justin Verlander pitches May 15 against the Detroit Tigers at Comerica Park. Raj Mehta / USA TODAY Sports2 / 2

New York Mets right-hander Jacob deGrom ran away with the voting to repeat as the winner of the National League Cy Young Award, while Houston Astros righty Justin Verlander edged a teammate to win the AL trophy for a second time Wednesday.

DeGrom went 11-8 with a 2.43 ERA in 32 starts, striking out an NL-best 255 in 204 innings.

He earned 29 of 30 first-place votes.

Verlander, 36, previously won in 2011, when he also took home the American League MVP award. He was 21-6 with a 2.58 ERA in 34 starts this season, striking out 300 for the first time in his career while pitching a major-league high 223 innings.

For the first time in AL history, teammates finished first and second in the voting, with the Astros' Gerrit Cole being a close second. Verlander picked up 17 first-place votes and 171 points in balloting by the Baseball Writers Association of America, with Cole earning the other 13 first-place nods and 159 points. No other pitcher placed second on any ballot.